What Is A Chakra Anyway?


Many of you may read the word chakra and automatically put it into a category, of something a little bit out there, or too esoteric.

However, these energy centres within your body are incredibly powerful, and when in balance can have you operating in harmony, your life force vital, integrated and healthy; and when out of balance can cause physical and emotional disruption.

The definition of the word chakra is wheel or disk, and the 7 main centers lie where your major nerve bundles come together along the front and back of the spine, yet there are actually chakras throughout the entire body, and also into your subtle and energetic body.  Even the earth has its own chakra system. 

While you can’t “see” a chakra, I often like to compare it to radio waves.  You can’t see the person talking in your radio, but you can hear them nonetheless.

Chakras are much the same, they are energetic connection points that have their own distinct vibrational frequency that you can tune into, they receive, assimilate and express life force energy.  

They are like the programs within your human biocomputer that correlate to your major organs, as well as your psychological, emotional and spiritual states, and when these disks are blocked, energy can be restricted, or if they have an excess or deficiency, these imbalances can present in your thoughts, behaviours and chronic physical ailments.

The chakra system originated in India more than 4000 years ago, however, even science now proves that we are energetic beings, that there is no separation between vibration and matter, and physicists can attest to the fact that our wellbeing and health relies on the harmonious vibration of these frequencies.  

The chakras have a direct connection to our body through our nervous system, our glands, our muscles and can impact our hormonal and digestive systems. Physical pain, emotional trauma, negative thoughts and memories can all effect your energy fields and the balance of these centres.  

They also run through our energy channels called Nadis.  The word Nad comes from the root word “flow”, so to have flow in our outer world, we need to be able to find balance within, and our chakras all offer different expressions of what exists within you, both positive and negative.  

When any one is out of balance it can affect the entire whole, so you want to bring them into coherency and operating together, as they each hold potential to bring you into harmony and empowerment within your life.

They are like little switches, you might like to imagine it like turning on a light switch, that can be impacted through yoga, meditation, and I also work with them in Kinesiology. 

Through correlating them with what is going on for you emotionally, psychologically and physically, you gain an understanding why the blockage, excess or deficiency may be there in the first place, so you can clear it for your long term healing and health, which is why Kinesiology can be so powerful in working with the chakras, as it allows you to tap into the subconscious mind.  

To give you an understanding of how an imbalanced chakra may show up, an example of a blockage in your Throat Chakra could be, in deficiency you don’t speak up for yourself, or have difficulty putting into words how you feel; whereas if you spoke too much with an inability to listen, often to cover up an underlying emotion, say fear, this would be an excess.  In balance you would have healthy self-expression.

Or an out of balance solar plexus, in excess, could present as arrogance, domineering and controlling, whereas in deficiency you lose energy, feel aimless and don’t have strong will.  In balance you would have good self-esteem and an appropriate  amount of personal power to meet life’s challenges.

Our excesses and deficiencies become our coping strategies in life and they can become hard wired into our systems, yet, we have the possibility to work with them, understand them, clear the blockage, create transformation and bring them into harmony.  

 Let’s have a look at the 7 key chakras within your body and what they represent


The Lower Chakras:  

These relate to more earth based concepts, practical elements that are related to survival, action and movement.

Base or Root Chakra / Muladhara

Colour: Red

Element: Earth

Sense: Smell

Nerve Plexus: Lumbar & Coccygeal 

Related Functions: Adrenals, Fight Flight Response, Bones/Skeletal & Structure

Seed Sound:  Lam (lahm)

Represents: Survival, Physical Needs, Security, Family/Tribal ties, Connection To Earth, Self-Preservation

Sacral Chakra / Swadhisthana  

Colour: Orange

Element: Water

Sense: Taste

Nerve Plexus: Lumbar

Related Functions: Elimination, Water Regulation, Sexual Function

Seed Sound:  Vam (vahm)

Represents: Creativity, Sexuality, Receptivity, Self-Gratification

Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura

Colour: Yellow

Element: Fire

Sense: Sight

Nerve Plexus: Solar

Related Functions: Digestion, Assimilation, Muscles

Seed Sound:  Ram (rahm)

Represents: Drive, Will, Confidence, Passion, Courage, Transformation, Personal Power, Self-Definition

Upper Chakras: 

The Upper Chakras relate to the mental and consciousness realms, through words, images, concepts and symbols. 

Heart Chakra / Anahata

Colour: Green

Element: Air

Sense: Touch

Nerve Plexus: Cardiac

Gland: Thymus

Related Functions: Electromagnetic Field Generator, Blood Pressure, Immune System

Seed Sound:  Yam (yahm)

Represents: Compassion, Unconditional Love, Inspiration, Giving & Receiving, Self-Acceptance

Throat Chakra / Vishuddha

Colour: Blue

Element: Ether (space)

Sense: Hearing

Nerve Plexus: Pharyngeal

Gland: Thyroid

Related Functions: Metabolism & Calcium Regulation

Seed Sound:  Ham (hahm)

Represents:  Speaking Our Truth, Communication, Self-Expression

Third Eye Chakra / Ajna 

Colour: Indigo

Nerve Plexus: Carotid

Gland: Pineal & Pituitary 

Related Functions: Hormonal/Physiological regulation

Seed Sound:  Om

Represents: Inner Wisdom, Clarity, Magnetism, Intuition, Imagination, Self-Reflection

Crown Chakra / Sahasrara

Colour: Violet

Nerve Plexus: Carotid

Gland: Pineal

Related Functions: Circadian Rhythms

Seed Sound:  (no seed sound but resonant sound Nngg)

Represents: Self-Knowledge, Awareness, Consciousness, Spirituality, Connection To All That Is.

By understanding and getting to know the chakra system, you can begin to bring awareness to where your tendencies show up. These vortices are keys to transformation, so that you can clear and restore balance both physically and emotionally, bring in more energy and create more harmony and flow within your life.

To book a Kinesiology appointment click here, I also work with the chakras in some of my meditation classes, and some of these practices are found on the Insight Timer app.